Health Library

Health Library Explorer
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z A-Z Listings

Stages of Endometriosis

Cutaway view of abdomen

The picture above shows normal organs. Your healthcare provider can mark where you have growths of endometriosis tissue. These are called implants.

Staging depends on certain factors. These include:

  • Number, size, and site of implants

  • Presence and extent of adhesions

  • Involvement of other pelvic organs

The stage may not match the pain you feel. Even early stages can cause a large amount of pain. Some people with later-stage disease may have few symptoms.

The 4 stages are listed below and are based on a complex scoring system:

I - Minimal

II - Mild

III - Moderate

IV - Severe





Online Medical Reviewer: Donna Freeborn PhD CNM FNP
Online Medical Reviewer: Heather M Trevino BSN RNC
Online Medical Reviewer: Howard Goodman MD
Date Last Reviewed: 12/1/2022
© 2000-2024 The StayWell Company, LLC. All rights reserved. This information is not intended as a substitute for professional medical care. Always follow your healthcare professional's instructions.